About “N Scale Modellers Australia”


A national N scale organisation was first mooted at the plenary session of the 1995 National N Scale Convention. An incorporated body proposal was floated during 2000 but did not gain sufficient support. Although discussed by members of the 2003 and 2005 National N Scale Convention committees, it was not until 2007 that representatives from various clubs/groups were appointed at the 10th National N Scale Convention to be members of a steering committee to investigate the forming of a cooperative national organisation. The steering committee discussed matters via email over the Internet. The findings of the steering committee were discussed at a forum at the 11th National N Scale Convention held in Canberra in October 2009 and recommendations were then presented at the plenary session. The delegates voted unanimously to form a national N scale organisation “N Scale Modellers Australia”.

N Scale Modellers Australia (NSMA) is to be managed by a Secretary and a Vice-Secretary. The delegates appointed the following:

Secretary – Graham Cocks (SA), and Vice-Secretary – Ian Sprent (NSW)
The term of Office is for two years (or Conventions span) and occupants are eligible for re-election.

Current: Secretary – Graham Cocks (SA), Vice-Secretary – David McMorran (VIC)

  • to create and maintain a portal (gateway) website for N scale modelling in Australia, and
  • to keep Convention records and recommendations for Conventions (following the formation of N Scale Conventions Australia (NSCA) in 2013, the second role is now maintained by NSCA)
International Representation

Australia is represented in the International N scale scene as NSMA is a member of INGA-NET (International NGauge Association NETwork), founded by N Club International based in Germany.

Activity Update

Up until 2020 the website has been hosted at the free Google Sites. Only costs were for the domain name registration and the domain name server. These were paid by the Secretary. Part of the costs were covered by Google Ads and donations from some N Conventions for convention website hosting. With Google discontinuing its free Google Sites for organisations in 2021, the website has been split into separate entities to be hosted separately for free and to be maintained by those who manage each entity, including the Conventions entity. As NSMA is now only a portal, it only needs to be maintained by a Secretary/Webmaster and a Vice-Secretary/Vice-Webmaster on a continuing basis.

Officers Elected

Secretary: Graham Cocks (SA) 2009-2021 (or until next N convention)
Vice-Secretary: David McMorran (VIC) 2019-2021 (or until next N convention)
David Bromage (ACT/QLD) 2015-2019
Stephen Chapman [dec.] (NSW) 2011-2015
Ian Sprent (NSW) 2009-2011